Winners of Month – March 2014

Our Artist of the Month – April 2014 is ” Paulo Moreira” and his interview is with us

1) Tells us something about yourself as an individual and a photographer ?
I am 46 year old and a translator by trade. I live in Portugal in the beautiful city of Porto. I started to be interested in photography during my university days. I undertook several photography courses that gave me some practical and theoretical basis. I started to take photos of strong graphic subjects, abstract also. Somehow it did not satisfy me, but it helped me a lot to be aware about geometry in photography. When I discovered the classic photo journalist photographers like Henry Cartier Bresson, Sebastião Salgado and so many others I was hooked. Of course, I am not a photo journalist, so I concentrated in street photography, in B&W. This was something difficult for me, as I am a shy guy, exchanging the zoom lens for a wide angle lens was something that took me some time.

2) What gear do you personally use for streets ?
I use 2 digital cameras, a Sony Nex7 and a Sony RX100. Sometimes I use some film cameras from my collection, AF compacts (fixed lens), rangefinders or medium format, but hardly ever a SLR. As for lenses, I am mad about wide angle lenses. I use from 14mm (in 35 mm terms) to 28mm most of the time. Sometimes I stretch to a normal lens and the 135 mm

3) What’s your view and meaning of street photography ?

The name says it all. For me, Street Photography is not documental photography, it is all about seizing a moment in the street, with care for composition. Also, the human element must be present. The photographer can make an ordinary moment special thanks to the way he composes the picture, the lens he uses, etc. Just capturing moments of street life is not enough, that’s the job of surveillance cameras.

4)What do you think of color , sepia and black & white in streets ? Whats your stronger point ?
I don’t like color in Street Photography. It is not about documenting something, it is just a personal interpretation of a moment. I’m afraid I am rather a purist, no color, no tints whatsoever, not even sepia. Black & White is more appellative, calls for imagination, since there are only graduations of grey and black. The world is not black and white, but street photography is about showing a different world, a sort of parallel dimension, so black and white suits it perfectly. I don’t think I have a strong point. I am just someone who takes notes with a camera. Perhaps being a good observer helps and I think I am a good observer. Also, not being a professional photographer takes out any stress about picture taking and that’s an advantage.

5)What tips that you want to share with “street-o-graphy” group members on street photography ? What’s your favorite tip ..?

Concerning tips, for me a big camera (SLR) with a big zoom is not the choice for street photography. Nobody wants a stranger pointing at them a huge camera. A small compact camera is much more friendly, nobody notices you and the subject doesn’t feel intimidated.

6)Anything about our group “Street-O-Graphy ( be as blunt as you wish ) – The best of streets from around the world” ?
No, not really, it is a wonderful group. Through it we get the chance to see so many different pictures from around the world. Keep up the good work!

7)Which forum / website we find all of your work ? best regards pushkar founder – street-o-graphy
If ever you want to take a look at all my pictures, here’s my Flickr page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/98922823@N00/ or look up under the name Paulo J Moreira

In no particular order TOP pics of the Month April 2014 are below 

pic of the month 1 - salvatore matarazzo

pic of the month 1 – salvatore matarazzo

pic of the month 2 - daniel antunes

pic of the month 2 – daniel antunes

pic of the month 3 - benizi santamaria

pic of the month 3 – benizi santamaria

pic of the month 4 -yannis bautrait

pic of the month 4 -yannis bautrait

pic of the month 5  - guido de renzi

pic of the month 5 – guido de renzi

In no particular order TOP 3 pics for “theme Shadows –  April 2014 ” are below 

Winner theme shadows - orna naor

Winner theme shadows – orna naor

Winner theme shadows - mehra piyush

Winner theme shadows – mehra piyush

Winner theme shadows -  anteneo-sta-ines

Winner theme shadows –
anteneo-sta-ines

Leave a Reply

