Winners for the month June 2014 : Street-o-Graphy

Hello All

The winners of June 2014 are out . Starting with our very own “Artist of the Month June 2014  – Sudheer Uralath ” . Here’s an exclusive interview with Sudheer

Sudheer Uralath

Sudheer Uralath

1) Tells us something about yourself as an individual and a photographer ? What gear do you personally use for streets ?

My name is Sudheer Uralath from Kerala,presently lives in Bangkok and I love photography. I studied film production so I have always loved the power of images. I started getting involved in organizing film festivals and my passion grew from there. I realized that I could tell narrative stories, through the lens, in one single shot. I started shooting on a Canon D50, but due to an unfortunate aquatic accident, I switched to the Canon 7D with a 10-22 lens.

2) What’s your view and meaning of street photography ?

I am a street photographer because I feel that the streets are the spice of life. In the streets we find happiness, in the streets we find sadness. I can look at my street today and observe my surroundings, watching the world pass me by. Tomorrow I can sit at the exact same corner, with my camera and watch an entirely new scene develop. Landscape photography has the potential to capture unspeakable beauty, but it is narrow in scope. The earth remains largely the same through our eyes as humans. It does not change much viewed from our lens, as we are only visiting this planet very briefly. The Himalayas will stay standing tall and proud, the Ganga will remain flowing and forgiving. These iconic symbols are indeed stunning and photogenic, but there are only so many perspectives we can capture them in. The streets, on the other hand, are the epitome of dynamic energy. They are constantly changing, constantly evolving, and this makes for rich photographic material. We are the streets. The streets are us. This is my belief and this is what I intend to capture in my pictures.

3) What do you think of color , sepia and black & white in streets ? Whats ur stronger point ?
I don’t use Sepia. Although I understand the sentiments it conveys, that of a mystical nature, I feel that black and white speaks the same language with louder volume. There is a surreal aspect of sepia that can transform an everyday scene into something magical, but for me, I can do the exact same thing in black and white, only more dramatic. So I much prefer shooting black and white.
4) What tips that you want to share with “street-o-graphy” group members on street photography ? What’s your favorite tip ..?
Edit before shoot My suggestion would be to emphasize the “pre-shot” In this technological era, we have become increasingly reliant on photoshop,cropping , color correction, and other post-production tools to enhance our photos, rather than letting the photo speak for itself. I believe we must do a better job of contemplating the shot, before taking the shot. That is to say, we should more carefully consider the framing, angle, and the message we are trying to express in the shot. Today I see many beautiful photos with stunning color and other effects, but many times it comes across as inauthentic, devoid of soul. Before taking the shot, we must ask ourselves, what am I trying to express with this photo? I believe in simply asking this question, we can deepen our understanding of photography with each shot.
 5) Anything about our group “Street-O-Graphy ( be as blunt as you wish ) – The best of streets from around the world” ?
I like the term “street O graphy.” We can translate “graphy” as the science of, or study of, and linked with street it forms an obvious yet profound meaning. The study of the streets is a subject that is something not taught in the classroom, but is undeniably pertinent and practical. In deepening our understanding of streets and their dynamics, we can come to a deeper understanding of human beings and how we interact with one another; there is something so dearly humane about this endeavor of illustrating this point that we are all the same consciousness. That whether in the streets of Bangkok, or in the streets of Mumbai, we are fundamentally all the same. We are all human beings, going through the same struggles, experiencing the same joy, finding laughter amidst it all.
6) Which forum / website we find all of your work ?

7) How does street photography affected your day-day life ?

I view the streets entirely different now than I did before I became interested in street photography. I now look at a street like a blank canvas. Upon which, I can paint any masterpiece. I now see the streets as rich portraits just waiting to be captured and shared. There are infinite stories occurring in each moment of these streets, you just need to know where to look. And with my camera, I attempt to find them.

 love & regards
Street-o-Graphy Team
The winners of the theme June 2014 Against the Wall in no particular order are : 
ryan r. araneta

ryan r. araneta

faisal bin rahman shuvo

faisal bin rahman shuvo

luigi casentini

luigi casentini

In no particular order , inspirational photographs for the month of June 2014 are 
 Иван Маранов

Иван Маранов

 Иван Маранов

Иван Маранов

yiannis yiasaris

yiannis yiasaris

yannis bautrait

yannis bautrait

ryan r. araneta

ryan r. araneta

sakib pratyay

sakib pratyay

salvatore matarazzo

salvatore matarazzo

salvatore matarazzo

salvatore matarazzo

souvik kundu

souvik kundu

ram iyer

ram iyer

paulo moreira

paulo moreira

paulo moreira

paulo moreira

pasquale panico

pasquale panico

orna naor

orna naor

muhammad imam hasan

muhammad imam hasan

luigi casentini

luigi casentini

javier vegas

javier vegas

javi calvo

javi calvo

jasper tejano

jasper tejano

gokul nath

gokul nath

faisal bin rahman shuvo

faisal bin rahman shuvo

eric yang

eric yang

chinlun leung

chinlun leung

chilung leung

chilung leung

babu raj

babu raj

Artur Stefanowski

Artur Stefanowski

Ivan Casan

Ivan Casan

One thought on “Winners for the month June 2014 : Street-o-Graphy

  1. Pingback: Inside and outside — Javi Calvo Fotógrafo – Street Photography

Leave a Reply

